How does the Truth set you Free?

“The truth sets you free” is a common saying letting people know that it is ok to tell the truth, but it also means much more than that.

The truth can set you free from many aspects of life, this is true.  When you let, yourself know what is true and what is not, your heart becomes less heavy.  This happens when you start to think and tell the truth.  When you do not do this you become overloaded by the stress of keeping up with lies.  For instance, there was a time in my life when I lied to myself about my feelings for a specific person.  The more I told myself that I did not like him, the more and more I thought about him.  At one point a friend asked me if I knew anyone that liked this person; of course, I told her no.  From the second I told her no, I could not stop thinking about him and the feelings I had for him.  It eventually became so rough, that I could not focus on anything else.  The only way I could stop thinking about him and the lie I told was to confront the person I lied to and tell her the truth. No matter how much I did not want to believe it myself.  In this instance, I felt so guilty and had trouble focusing; that the only thing that I could do was to confront my feelings and admit that they existed.

Now the bible says “thou shalt not lie” (KJV).  It is one of the 10 commandments.  Now there are a thousand ways to lie and lying to thy self is just as awful as lying to another.  When we lie, we start to feel dragged down and weighted; just like in my story I was unable to think of anything else other than the lie I told.  This can lead to people getting into trouble (in fact, it helped me fail my French test).  By telling the truth we become set free from the chains that we have put ourselves under.

The truth can set us free is more than about just being honest with another person but, also with yourself.  If you can’t be honest with yourself, then you may never be able to reach your full potential and reach the goals God has for you.  In parting, let us remember that being honest with yourself is what God wants, will help you reach your full potential, and allow you to be more light hearted.

John 8:32 (NASB), Ephesians 4:15 (GNT), Ephesians 4:25 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

