Love who?

I love love. Love is my favorite thing.  When I think about my favorite verses they are all about love.

There are several kinds of love and love can be expressed in numerous different ways.  It’s not just love for a parent, a spouse, that special someone, your child, or your best friend.  The best kind of love is that for a stranger or someone you do not like.  I have this friend who is so against gay marriage it is ridiculous.  When you get him on the topic it is sometimes difficult to stop him from being so intense.  However, he supports and love those who support it.  He once spent some time with a man who he did not know, who was an open supporter of gay marriage.  He loved this man. He was not cruel and did not express any hatred he just treated him like any other human being.  This is the best type of love that can be expressed, yet it is also the most difficult.

Loving those who don’t love you or support what you support is difficult. My step-mom seems to hate my guts.  She wants nothing to do with me and puts my dad in the middle of it, causing him to not suppress an interest in my life.  I still love my dad and would do anything for him in a heartbeat. He may not support me in anything I do or be there for me, but I still love him and care for him.

A couple of years ago I taught a Sunday school lesson on, 1 Corinthians 13:4-8.  I asked the youth how we can use these verses in their life. One of the kids said that they could be nicer to their siblings, and another said not ignoring their friend.  These are things that should be done daily. While it should be done daily, we often tend to be in the moment and forget about showing love.

Loving an enemy or someone we do not like is difficult, but it is doable and required by all.  As 1 John 4:20 says, “whoever claims to love God, yet hates his brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God whom they have never seen.”  So, if that is the case we need to love at all time all persons no matter how difficult it is.  Remember this as you live throughout this day.

Love the unlovable and embrace those you are filled with hatred, so that you honor the Lord through the love of another.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8, 1 John 4:19-21

Leave a Reply

